in the kitchen: transitioning to autumn

IMG_0806

Did okay, but not great, sticking with last week’s menu plan. Monday brought the first kink–the earliest appointment we could get at the Genius Bar was Monday at suppertime; we bagged grilling and just grabbed a bite while out. This pushed Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday’s plans forward a day. Friday remained pizza night (Gray considers this sacrosanct). And Saturday was a complete change up thanks to the glorious weather–with nonstop rain and highs in the upper 50s to low 60s all weekend, how could we not have a big batch of Rich’s chili?!! (This is heaven for me both because his chili is one of my all-time favorite meals *and* because I get out of cooking duties 😛 ). I did manage a few extras–baked cookies for next week’s lunches and made veggie broth.

As for the new recipes tried, two out of three were winners. I didn’t care much for the lemon baked potatoes (though Rich enjoyed them); I think for me, it’s a case of there’s just no improving on a regular baked potato loaded with butter and salt and pepper. 😉  But the peach muffins and the cranberry bars–thumbs up all-around.

As for what’s on slate for the upcoming week:

Breakfasts. Much the same. A mix of eggs, bacon (for Max), veggie sausage (for Gray), etc. Plus I’m going to make a big batch of blueberry pancakes today to stick in the fridge to warm up some mornings.

Lunches. Max will have his typical bagel sandwiches and fruit salad and Gatorade.. And this week, he’ll have Ritz Bits and crack cookies as extras. Gray will choose from his regulars. Annie will have shin bowls or pb&j on waffles, plus fruit salad, cookies, and on pb&j days probably a Greek yogurt. Rich will have cavatini some days (I’ll be making a batch today for the freezer) and leftover chili some days, celery, fruit salad, and cookies. I will eat leftovers.

Supper.

Sunday: grilled cheese on homemade bread, soup

Monday: As Annie and Rich won’t be home Monday nights, this will be the night for the boys and me to eat things that everyone else doesn’t necessarily like. So for Max, it will be mozzarella sticks. And for Gray and me, I’ll make pumpkin waffles. A double batch so I can freeze a pile of them for breakfasts next week.

Tuesday: Taco Tuesday, as per Max’s request. Or should I say, as per Max’s begging. 😛

Wednesday: mac and cheese bake, cantaloupe slices, homemade rolls, and rice pudding (new recipe)

Thursday: linguine with fresh tomatoes (new recipe) and honey pan rolls (new recipe)

Friday: pizza night

Saturday: veggie burgers, pizza salad, honeydew melon slices

*****

Peach Muffins (from Jean Childress’ Muffin Cookbook–a favorite of mine)

2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

4 tsp baking powder

1 cup milk

1 egg, lightly beaten

6 Tbsp butter, melted

1 large peach, peeled and chopped

additional sugar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin tin.

Combine dry ingredients.

In separate bowl, whisk together egg, milk, and melted butter. Stir into dry ingredients, just until moistened. Fold in peaches.

Spoon batter into muffin tins. Sprinkle with sugar.

Bake 25 minutes.

IMG_7261

4 thoughts on “in the kitchen: transitioning to autumn

  1. Have I ever told you that grilled cheese is one of my all time favorite foods? I could seriously eat that for breakfast lunch and dinner :p They opened up a place here recently called The Big Cheezy and I’m DYING to go there :p Also, I need that recipe for those cranberry bars!!! They look divine and just like the cranberry bars that I love that they have at starbucks around Christmas! Also…crack cookies…those have to be good :p

    Like

  2. There is something just so perfect about a grilled cheese sandwich, isn’t there? So simple and yet so divine. 🙂 That is Gray’s favorite meal.
    The cranberry bars are so yum! I shall email you the recipe today. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

